Qualitative or Quantitative Fit Testing?

There are two Fit Test methods, these are known as: Quantitative and Qualitative tests. RPA can provide both Qualitative and Quantitative (PortaCount) tests, on-site throughout the UK.

 

Fit Testing – Quantitative Tests

The Quantitative (PortaCount) method can be used to fit test all types of tight-fitting masks including disposable, half and full face masks. Quantitative tests give an objective assessment of facial fit and provide a direct numerical result called a Fit Factor.

KEYBOARD_MOUSEThe most widely-used Quantitative method for RPE fit testing is the Ambient Particle Counting method (the TSI PortaCount). The PortaCount measures the ratio of particles inside and outside the facepiece and provides a numerical result called a Fit Factor.

As in all other methods, the wearer should perform a series of exercises during the fit testing procedure (see INDG 479 Protocols for more details on test exercises and pass levels).

 

Fit Testing – Qualitative Tests

Qualitative tests rely on the wearer’s taste response to detect faceseal leakage of a test agent (Bitter or Sweet). The Qualitative method requires the same seven-test exercise protocol as other methods as described in INDG 479, but can only be employed for fit testing of filtering facepieces (disposable masks) and half masks, not full face masks. This method involves a ‘Sensitivity Test’ and ‘Fit Test’ step which must both be conducted with the same test agent. 

Click here to find out more information on Qualitative fit test kits, spares and top-up solutions.

Training Dates

BRISTOL COURSES

Portacount
Friday 18th October
Friday 22nd November
Friday 24th January
Friday 21st February

Qualitative
Friday 8th November
Friday 6th December
Friday 10th January
Friday 7th February

BROMSGROVE COURSES

Qualitative
Thursday 17th October
Thursday 14th November
Thursday 19th December

GATESHEAD COURSES

Qualitative
Thursday 21st November

BESPOKE TRAINING

We are happy to arrange on-site training courses for 3 or more delegates anywhere in the UK. Please contact us for details.

Email us for further details at enquiries@face-fit.co.uk