The INDG 479 Fit Test Protocol

Fit Test Exercises

INDG 479 states that the Fit Test protocol must include a minimum of seven test exercises, which should be performed for at least one minute each. The wearer must achieve an individual pass result in each of the seven test exercises within one single testing period. ie if a single one of the exercises fails then the whole test must be repeated. 

Download INDG 479 from the HSE website (PDF)

The fit test exercises for both Qualitative and Quantitative tests are:

  • Normal Breathing
  • Deep Breathing
  • Head Side to Side
  • Head Up and Down
  • Talking
  • Bending
  • Normal Breathing

INDG 479 states that for a Quantitative (Ambient Particle Counting) fit test, these exercises should be performed while the candidate is performing a dynamic movement such as: cycling on an exercise bike, walking on a treadmill or carrying out a stepping exercise. The exercise regime should induce a physical workload on the wearer which aims to simulate working activities and work rate.

 

Fit Factor Pass Levels

The minimum Fit Factor which must be achieved to pass a fit test depends upon the type of facepiece being tested:

  • Half Mask and FFP3 Disposable Mask, Fit Factor Pass Level = 100*
  • Full Face Masks (All types), Fit Factor Pass Level = 2000

*When using a PortaCount, APF 4 (FFP1) and APF 10 (FFP2) disposable half masks can only be fit tested if N95 technology is employed.

It should be noted that the Fit Factor should not be used when calculating an individual’s actual exposure to hazardous substances. The Fit Factor is the result of fit testing and is valid at the time of testing only. The Assigned Protection Factor (APF) should always be used when selecting RPE for use at work.

Training Dates

BRISTOL COURSES

Portacount
Friday 24th January
Friday 21st February
Friday 20th March
Friday 24th April

Qualitative
Friday 7th February
Friday 6th March
Friday 17th April
Friday 15th May

BROMSGROVE COURSES

Qualitative
Thursday 13th February
Thursday 19th March
Thursday 23rd April

LONDON COURSES

Qualitative
Friday 24th January
Friday 28th February
Friday 27th March

GATESHEAD COURSES

Qualitative
Thursday 30th January
Thursday 5th March

BESPOKE TRAINING

We are happy to arrange on-site training courses for 3 or more delegates anywhere in the UK. Please contact us for details.

Email us for further details at enquiries@face-fit.co.uk